Now Imran’s PTI has nominated its candidate for the post of president

The Sunni Ittehad Council (SIC) has nominated Pashtun-Khwa Mili Awami Party (PKMAP) chief Mahmud Khan Achakzai for the post of president. The decision to nominate Achakzai to contest against Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) Co-Chairman Asif Ali Zardari for the post was announced today.

PTI chairman Barrister Gahar Khan confirmed Achakzai’s nomination for the presidential election. Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) party founder Imran Khan has urged his party members to vote for Achakzai as president.

It is to be noted that Achakzai won from the NA-266 constituency of Qila Abdullah-cum-Chaman in Balochistan.

Earlier, a PTI delegation met Achakzai and Balochistan National Party (MENGAL) chief Akhtar Mengal to seek their support in protesting against ‘rigging’ in this general election.

According to a notification issued by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Friday, the presidential election will be held in the country on March 9. The deadline for submitting nomination papers for the presidential election was today at noon. And the scrutiny of nomination papers will end on March 4.

Candidates who wish to withdraw their nomination papers can do so by March 5. The final list of candidates will be published on March 6, after which polling will be held.