After many dramas, the Prime Minister of Pakistan, Shahbaz Sharif

PML-N President Shahbaz Sharif has been elected as the new Prime Minister of Pakistan by getting 201 votes in the National Assembly. He is going to serve as the Prime Minister of the country for the second time.

He will take the oath as the 24th Prime Minister of Pakistan.

On February 8, the national election was held in Pakistan. As no party secured a single majority in the polls, Nawaz Sharif’s Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) formed an eight-party coalition with Bilawal Bhutto Zardari’s PPP to form the government.

Shahbaz was the prime ministerial candidate for those eight parties. His only rival was PTI candidate Omar Ayub Khan. PTI-backed independent MPs, or MNAs, have joined the Sunni Ittehad Council (SIC) to nominate him as their prime minister.

Omar Ayub Khan, a candidate for the Sunni Ittehad Council (SIC), a party of PTI-backed independent MPs, got 92 votes.

Voting began an hour after the scheduled time on Sunday (March 2). After the polling process was completed, Speaker Sardar Ayaz Sadiq announced the results after counting the votes and called upon Shahbaz to take the seat as the leader of the National Assembly, the Daily Dawn reported.