Farewell to Barisal, Chittagong in the qualifiers

Fortune Barisal played today against Chittagong Challengers in the first match of Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) playoff phase.

Thanks to the pair of fifties of Tamim Iqbal and Kyle Myers, Barisal won by 7 wickets with 31 balls in hand.
Barisal won the toss and invited Chittagong to bat on Monday (February 26). Batting first, Chittagong gave Barisal an easy target of 136 runs. In response, Barisal reached the port of victory with seven wickets and 31 balls in hand. In this, Barisal is confirmed as a qualifier after leaving Chittagong.

Chasing an easy target, Barisal stumbled at the start. Opener Soumya Sarkar returned to Sajghar with the second ball of the innings. Then Saikat Ali failed to close Tamim Iqbal’s easy catch. Tamim started batting from the next ball.
Kyle Myers started batting after Barisal captain’s batting rampage. This Caribbean batsman scored 26 runs in one over of Shubhagat home. Barisal started running on the way to victory with the bats of both of them.
Myers picked up a fifty off 25 balls. The right-handed batsman was caught out on the very next ball. David Miller then accompanied Tamim. Miller got out after scoring 17 runs off 13 balls, but the Barisal captain picked up a fifty off 41 balls.

In the end, Barisal reached the port of victory with seven wickets and 31 balls in hand thanks to Mushfiqur’s 5 runs from 6 balls and Tamim Iqbal’s unbeaten innings of 52 runs from 43 balls.