Chittagong beat Khulna in the playoffs.

If you win, the playoffs are guaranteed, but if you lose, there is a risk of being eliminated. The Chittagong Challengers faced the Khulna Tigers with such an equation. Chittagong opener Tanjid Hasan Tamim stormed into bat after winning the toss. He scored his first century in a recognized T20 career. Tanjid Tamim’s century finally showed Chittagong the way to the play-offs.

Chittagong won the toss at the Zahoor Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chittagong on Tuesday (February 20) and batted first, losing four wickets in the allotted 20 overs and collecting 192 runs. Tanjid Tamim scored the most runs for the team. In response, Khulna were bowled out for 127 runs in 19 overs.

Enamul Haque Vijay and Parvez Hossain Emon, who opened for Khulna, failed to take their pair far today. Parvez Hossain Imon’s departure broke this pair after only 13 runs for the team. Parvez Hossain, who scored 6 runs from 8 balls, was caught by Mohammad Wasim at mid-off off Imon Bilal Khan and went back to Sajghar.

After losing the first wicket for 13 runs, Enamul Haque Vijay formed a partnership with Shai Hope. Khulna began to turn around with this pair. But Shahidul Islam stopped this pair before it became terrifying. Shahidul Islam’s ball was caught by Romario Shepherd, and Vijay went back to the dressing room. The pair of 54 runs broke on his departure.

Khulna could not turn around after this pair. One by one, Evin Lewis, Shai Hope, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, and Afif Hossain have returned to the dressing room. Evin Lewis scored 6 from 3 balls, Shai Hope scored 31 from 21 balls, Mahmudul Hasan Joy scored 7 from 9 balls, and Afif Hossain scored 6 runs from 10 balls. As a result, Khulna lost six wickets for only 99 runs.

After losing six wickets for 99 runs, Jason Holder and Wayne Parnell formed a partnership. But this pair also failed to go far today. Wayne Parnell’s departure for the team’s 112 runs broke the pair by 13 runs.

Khulna could not advance further after breaking this pair. Khulna were all out for 127 runs in 19 overs and 5 balls. As a result, Chittagong won by 65 runs. Chittagong confirmed the playoff after Rangpur won by 65 runs.

Earlier, the host Chittagong Challengers won the toss and batted first in the last match of the Chittagong phase. Chittagong collected 192 runs after losing 4 wickets in the allotted 20 overs on opener Tanjid Hasan Tamim’s first century of BPL career.