The Prime Minister presented Ekushey Medal

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina handed over ‘Ekushe Padak-2024’ to 21 eminent persons on the occasion of Amar Ekushe and International Mother Language Day.

The Prime Minister presented Bangladesh’s second highest civilian award ‘Ekushey Padak’ in a ceremony at the capital’s Osmani Memorial Auditorium on Tuesday (February 20).

The nation will observe ‘Amar Ekushey and International Mother Language Day’ on Wednesday (February 21) to pay deep respect to the martyrs of the language movement who made the supreme sacrifice for the mother tongue on this day in 1952.

During the current Awami League government, the amount of money given to the awardees has been increased several times. In the last year 2020, it was increased to four lakh taka.

Earlier, on February 13, the government announced the names of 21 eminent citizens for ‘Ekushey Padak’ for their outstanding contributions in their respective fields. This year, two in language movement category, 12 in art, two in social service, four in language and literature and one eminent citizen in education received the award.

Mau for the award in the language movement category. Ashrafuddin Ahmed (posthumous), brave freedom fighter Hatim Ali Miar (posthumous) has been announced. In Arts category Jalal Uddin Kha (posthumous) in music category, freedom fighter Kalyani Ghosh (posthumous), Vidit Lal Das (posthumous), Andrew Kishore (posthumous), Subhradev, Shibli Mohammad in dance category, Dolly Jahoor and MA Alamgir in reciting category. Khan Md. Mustafa Walid (Shimul Mustafa) and Rupa Chakraborty, Shahjahan Ahmed Bikas in the painting category, Kawsar Chowdhury in the documentary film making and archiving category of Liberation War, Md. in the social service department. Ziaul Haq, Rafiq Ahmed, Muhammad Samad, Lutfar Rahman Riton, Minar Mansoor, Rudra Muhammad Shahidullah (posthumous) in the Department of Language and Literature and Prof. Dr. in the Department of Education. Awarded at Jinbodhi Bhikkhu.

Note that ‘Ekushey Padak’ was introduced to commemorate the martyrs of the language movement of 1952. The Ministry of Culture awards awards with gold medals, certificates and cash. Last year, 19 distinguished individuals and two institutions were awarded the prestigious Ekushey Padak.