The only US veto on the ‘Gaza ceasefire proposal’

Only the United States has vetoed the “Gaza ceasefire proposal” raised by Algeria in the UN Security Council.

A new ceasefire proposal was voted on on Tuesday. 12 of the 15 members of the Security Council voted in favour. Jaktrajya abstained from voting. And the United States is the only country that has vetoed it.

Five countries are permanent members of the 15-member UN Security Council. All of whom have the power to veto any proposal.

Thirteen out of 15 countries voted in favor of the ceasefire — an end to more than four months of Israeli brutality in the Palestinian-besieged Gaza — that the world wants.

On October 7, the Palestinian armed group Hamas attacked various illegal settlements in Israel, killing 1,200 people and arresting about 250 people in Gaza.

After that, Israeli soldiers started brutalizing Gaza. More than 29,000 people have been killed in this valley so far in their attacks. In addition, about 70,000 others were injured.

It was the third U.S. veto of a Security Council cease-fire resolution that started the war between Hamas and Israel.

It was already known that the United States would veto the Algerian ceasefire proposal. However, this new proposal was raised in the Security Council to show that most of the countries of the world want to stop the war.

Before this ceasefire proposal went to the Security Council, the United States made a counter-proposal on its own. It said, “A temporary ceasefire will be enforced at the appropriate time and all restrictions on relief will be lifted.” Instead, Hamas must release all Israeli hostages