The story of the BPL mega final and the classic battle of Comilla-Barisal

In the last four times both the teams have won two matches each. Among them, Barisal won their first match in this tournament and Comilla won the second match of the double round robin exactly one month later. The story of last season’s group stage is also the same. Barisal 1-1 Comilla.

The jersey color of both teams is also the same. When you get on the field, it seems like a red derby is going on. Those who follow European football are familiar with the Manchester United and Liverpool rivalry. Although football has an away jersey. Not in cricket. So it can be said that Barisal-Comilla is the ‘Perfect Red Derby’.

The charismatic match of the 2022 BPL final should be remembered by everyone. Barisal clinched the title after losing by just 1 run in the title-deciding final match to Seva Comilla. Earlier, these two teams met once again in the final. Barisal’s dream was shattered in the 2015 final, Comilla won. The game of these two teams is like an epic composed of equations and counter-equations

Even today, cricket lovers can witness another epic. These two teams will meet again at Mirpur Shere Bangla National Cricket Stadium on Friday (March 1) at 6:30 pm in the mega final of the 10th season of BPL.

The cricket fans are looking forward to enjoy the two openers of the national team Tamil-Liton duel. A classic battle of team as well as individual achievement will continue in today’s game.

In the list of the highest run scorers of the season, these two teams have an equal number of two in the top five so far. Barisal captain Tamim Iqbal tops all with 453 runs. Mushfiqur, who is number five in the list, has collected 367 runs. Comilla captain Liton is also in this list. Liton is number four in the list with 375 runs. In addition, with 447 runs, Tawheed Hriday is breathing down Tamim’s neck.

Both teams have players who can make a difference in the bowling. Barisal’s Andre Russell, Sunil Narine will compete with Barisal’s Mostafizur Rahman, Taizulra. David Miller, Matthew Ford, James Fuller, Kyle Myers, Johnson Charles and Mohammad Saifuddin can add to the atmosphere of the final.

The history of the BPL final is also in favor of Comilla. On the one hand, they are the current champions and the trophies of the last two seasons have also gone home. Now the hat-trick of the title is in the offing. Statistics show that the team from Gomti Par has won every time after playing the final four times. That is, in the final, Comilla means the title for them!

In Bangladesh cricket, the three members of Panchpandab Mashrafe bin Mortaza four times, Shakib Al Hasan twice and Tamim Iqbal won the trophy once, but Mushfiqur still missed the BPL title. This is their chance to regret that. Will play for the same team. But when the opponent is Comilla, the task will not be easy for Barisal.

On the other hand, Barisal’s memory of winning the title is full of tears. Even though the final was played three times before, the trophy was never won in this city known as the Venice of Bengal.

BPL is going to finish 10 seasons. Barisal’s first or Comilla’s five, will be known today.