Allocation of symbols to mayoral candidates in Cusick’s by-election

Comilla City Corporation by-elections have allotted symbols to mayoral candidates. Friday (February 23) at 9 o’clock in the morning, the official Comilla district election office returns officers. Farhad Hossain allocated symbols among the candidates.

Among the four candidates who have submitted their nomination papers for the post of mayor, Tahsin Bahar, daughter of Comilla Sadar Member of Parliament Haji AKM Bahauddin Bahar, has received Bas Prateek; metropolitan Awami League advisory member Noor Ur Rahman Mahmud Tamim Hati Prateek; two-time former mayor and former BNP leader Monirul; Haque Sakku table clock; and former BNP leader Nizamuddin Qaiser received a horse symbol.

Returning officer Farhad Hossain said that after the allotment of symbols, the candidates can conduct their official campaign. From today, an Executive Magistrate will work in every three wards to monitor the conduct of candidates, and Election Commission officials will work at the field level.

The total number of voters in Comilla City Corporation is 2 lakh, 42 thousand, 698 people, and there are 105 polling stations in total. Voting will be held on March 9.

In the third election of Comilla City Corporation in 2022, General Secretary of the Metropolitan Awami League, Arfanul Haque Rifat, was elected after defeating then-mayor BNP leader Monirul Haque Sakku. The position became vacant again in December 2023 upon the death of Mayor Rifat.